Airport Fast Park – BWI

Posted: February 5, 2011 in Customer Experiences

Airport Fast Park – Red Lot, Elkridge Landing, Baltimore Washington International

Company: Airpark Fast Park

Service Category: Parking

Every so often, one runs into an excellent customer experience, in what should be a mundane, undifferentiated service.  In this case, off airport parking. These experiences are rarer than one would expect. You aren’t expecting much, beyond low cost parking ($7.90 versus $20 for daily service). Then you have that exceptional customer experience, and you are literally blown away by the creativity and thoughtfulness someone put into designing and implementing the service, as well as the service personnel who authentically seem pleased to be providing the service. Airpark Fast Park (the Red Lot off of Elkridge Landing, BWI Airport), is just one such experience. This company has parking lots throughout the US, and you’ll have the same experience at everyone.  Go to http://www.tvlon.com/resources/AirportFastPark.html

Recommendation

Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

I normally cut my trips fairly close, often having about a 45 minute time slot between parking, getting tickets, getting through security, and getting to the security gate, so I was often parking at the daily parking lot ($10/Day), and Hourly Parking ($20/Day), and speed was key.  I have On a rare occasion, I arrived at the airport earlier enough to use off airport parking, and had noticed Airpark Fast Park with parking for $7.90/Day. So I tried it.  Since then, I have used it religiously, feeling that excellent service should be rewarded with business.

My Story

On arrival

I arrived at the fast park, and pulled up to the gate.  The attendant asked if I wanted a newspaper (free of charge), took a quick look around the lot, and told me to park in Isle D, which I did.  As I drove down the line of cars, the shuttle bus followed me to an open parking spot.  Before I could turn off the engine, the driver had exited the shuttle, and was waiting at the based of the shuttle stairs, and asked if I needed help with my bags.  He took my bags and loaded them in the luggage storage area.  Next, he pulled out a red business card, and scribbled something on it, handing it to me.  He had written down my space number, and suggested to to save that in my wallet.  He proceeded to pick up one other passenger. He asked what airline each of us was taking, and proceeded to rapidly drive to the gates.  During the ride, the driver was pleasant, and returned conversation, but didn’t insist on talking or making small talk if the customer’s didn’t seem open to it.  We were dropped off at our gates.  Again, he offloaded the suitcases, and rapidly got back to his driver’s seat.  The entire transaction from parking gate to drop off at the airline gate had taken less than 12 minutes.  Easily beating the time I normally wait if I take the daily parking at $10/day, which is also located 2 miles closer to the airport.

On Return

I walked to the pick-up area on the bottom floor of the airport. Within a few minutes, I recognized the well marked shuffle, waved a hand, and they immediately pulled over to where I was standing.  The driver got out of his seat, and reached out to take my bags and place them on the storage rack, and asked if I had a red card with my parking place. I did, and handed it to him.  He rapidly drove through the airport, and picked up people as they waved him down.  Again, from gate arrival to drop off at the parking lot, was about 10 to 12 minutes. At the parking lot, he stopped at each car, got out of his seat and offloaded the luggage.  I drove to the exit gate. At each exit gate, there is a cooler full of cold water (free), which the gate attendant encourages you to take.  The attendant also asked if I had a discount coupon (I didn’t).  She went ahead and gave me a discount, and suggested I get a coupon on the next trip to save additional money.

Leave a comment